«
FAQ

1. Where can I buy a brand name watch and be sure that it’s not a fake?

We constantly have to tell our customers about the true value of holiday or Internet purchases. Unfortunately, the trade in fake brand name watches is currently booming more than ever. So please heed these points:

  • Only buy your dream watch from an authorised dealer. Only he or she can guarantee that you have bought a genuine brand name watch.
  • Always ask for a fully completed warranty certificate indicating the watch reference number. High-quality luxury watches should also feature an engraved number (i.e. a case or serial number). The dealer stamp and date of purchase must always be clearly indicated.

2. How do I clean my watch?

If you wish to clean your watch at home please take care when using modern ultrasound cleaning devices. Only put the band, strap or bracelet, never the whole watch, into the ultrasound cleaner. Ultrasound generates high vibration. This can cause the lubricants in the case to spread or disperse, causing damage to the watch. Otherwise clean your watch with a damp cloth or take it to the Huber Watchmaking Atelier! Use lukewarm water, a soft cloth and a mild soap at regular intervals to clean waterproof watches which are often immersed in salt water.

3. What’s the difference between a chronograph and a chronometer?

  • Based to a literal translation from Greek, “chronograph” means “time-writer”. So today’s chronographs simply display a period of time. In other words, a chronograph is simply a stopwatch.
  • Chronometers are watches which run with extreme accuracy. Rigorously tested under established conditions, they have to meet certain requirements regarding their precision of movement in order to be called genuine “chronometers”.

4. What does “water resistant” actually mean?

Obviously, it’s a good idea to know how water resistant your wristwatch is before you wear it under the shower or in the swimming pool. Some watches are only protected against splashes. Some you can wear when you go swimming, while others meet the requirements of professional diving. Here we explain the differences.

Water resistant

According to German Industry Standard DIN 8310, watches may be described as being “water resistant” if they can withstand perspiration, splashes and rain and remain watertight for at least 30 minutes when immersed in a metre of water. Such watches can be worn when you wash your hands.

Water resistant to 50 or 100 metres

If the words “Water Resistant 50 M (5 bar)” are indicated on the bottom of your watch case, this means that the watchmaker has designed your timepiece so that it can be worn when you go swimming or diving in shallow waters. These watches are not suitable for serious dives at greater depths or when breathing apparatus is required. The same applies to “Water Resistant 100 M (10 bar)” watches which are not defined as diver’s watches.

Diver’s watches

Under the provisions of DIN 8306, certain conditions must be met in order for a timepiece to be designated a diver’s watch:

  • Absolute watertightness.
  • Excellent readability (the actual time, selected dive time and the functioning of the watch must be visible at a glance from a distance of 25 cm, even in darkness).
  • The diver must be able to pre-select a period of time (e.g. through the use of a rotary ring which can only be set in one direction).

Testing water resistance

Extreme fluctuations in temperature, chemicals or other external conditions corrode the sealing materials of a watch and will eventually impair the degree of water resistance. There’s no simple way to establish precisely how long a water resistant watch will remain watertight. If you really wish to keep your watch water resistant over a long period of time you should take it in for a service at regular intervals – at least once a year. An annual service is mandatory in the case of professional divers.

5. Any more questions?

We’re passionate about watches – so we’re here to help you with any questions you may have. Simply drop in to one of our stores, call us or send us an e-mail, and we’ll respond without delay.

«
FAQ

1. Wo kaufe ich eine Markenuhr fälschungssicher?

Immer wieder müssen wir Kunden über den wahren Wert von Urlaubs- oder Internetkäufen aufklären. Der Handel mit gefälschten Markenuhren boomt leider wie selten zuvor. Deshalb beachten Sie bitte:

  • Kaufen Sie Ihre Traumuhr ausschliesslich bei einem autorisierten Händler. Nur er kann Ihnen garantieren, dass Sie eine echte Markenuhr gekauft haben.
  • Verlangen Sie in jedem Fall ein vollständig ausgefülltes Garantiezertifikat, auf dem die Referenz der Uhr vermerkt ist. Bei hochwertigen Luxusuhren sollte auch die Gravurnummer (Gehäuse- oder Seriennummer) angeführt sein. Der Händlerstempel und das Kaufdatum müssen in jedem Fall angegeben sein.

2. Wie reinige ich meine Uhr?

Wer seine Uhr zu Hause reinigen möchte, sollte beim Einsatz von modernen Ultraschall-Reinigungsgeräten vorsichtig sein. Nur das Band darf hineingelegt werden, nie die ganze Uhr. Ultraschall erzeugt hohe Schwingungen. Dies kann dazu führen, dass sich Schmiermittel im Gehäuse verteilen bzw. verlaufen und der Uhr so Schaden zufügen. Ansonsten die Uhr mit einem weichen Tuch reinigen oder ins Huber Uhrenatelier bringen! Wasserdichte Uhren nach dem Aufenthalt im Salzwasser regelmässig mit lauwarmem Wasser, weichem Tuch und etwas milder Seife reinigen.

3. Was ist ein Chronograph bzw. ein Chronometer?

  • Der Begriff „Chronograph“ bedeutet korrekt aus dem Griechischen übersetzt eigentlich „Zeitschreiber“. Die heutigen Chronographen zeigen also einen Zeitabschnitt an oder anders ausgedrückt: Ein Chronograph ist ganz einfach eine Stoppuhr.
  • Chronometer sind Uhren, die sehr genau laufen. Getestet unter festgelegten Prüfungsbedingungen, erhalten sie die Auszeichnung «Chronometer» nur dann, wenn sie bestimmte Anforderungen an die Ganggenauigkeit erfüllen.

4. Was bedeutet „wasserdicht“?

Bevor die Armbanduhr unter die Dusche oder ins Schwimmbad mitgenommen wird, sollte klar sein, wie es um ihre Wasserdichtheit bestellt ist. Es gibt Uhren, die lediglich gegen Spritzwasser geschützt sind, solche, mit denen man schwimmen gehen kann und es gibt Uhren, die für professionelles Tauchen geeignet sind. Wir erklären die Unterschiede.

Wasserdicht

Die Deutsche Industrienorm (DIN) 8310 legt fest, dass Uhren als wasserdicht bezeichnet werden dürfen, wenn sie widerstandsfähig gegen Schweiss, Spritzwasser und Regen sind und wenigstens 30 Minuten in einem Meter Wassertiefe dicht bleiben. Solche Uhren können beim Händewaschen getragen werden.

Wasserdicht bis 50 oder 100 Meter

Befindet sich auf dem Gehäuseboden Ihrer Uhr die Angabe „wasserdicht bis 50 Meter (5 bar)“, so bedeutet dies, dass Ihre Uhr vom Hersteller so konstruiert ist, dass Sie mit ihr in flachem Gewässer schwimmen und tauchen können. Zum ernsthaften Tauchen in grösseren Tiefen oder sogar mit Atemgerät sind diese Uhren nicht geeignet. Das Gleiche gilt auch für 100 Meter wasserdichte Uhren (10 bar), die nicht als Taucheruhren definiert sind.

Taucheruhren

Damit sich eine Uhr Taucheruhr nennen darf, muss sie, entsprechend der DIN 8306, einige Bedingungen erfüllen:

  • Absolute Dichtheit.
  • Sehr gute Ablesbarkeit (Uhrzeit, gewählte Tauchzeit und das Funktionieren der Uhr müssen aus 25 Zentimeter Abstand auf einen Blick erkennbar sein, auch bei Dunkelheit).
  • Eine Einrichtung zur Vorwahl einer Zeitspanne (dazu dient ein einseitig drehbarer Einstellring).

Wasserdichtheit prüfen

Starke Temperaturschwankungen, Chemikalien oder sonstige äussere Einflüsse greifen das Dichtungsmaterial einer Uhr an und führen schliesslich zum Verlust der Wasserdichtheit. Wie lange eine wasserdichte Uhr dicht bleibt, lässt sich nicht pauschal angeben. Wer Wert auf die Wasserdichtheit seiner Uhr legt, sollte diese in regelmässigen Abständen überprüfen lassen, wenigstens einmal im Jahr. Bei Berufstauchern ist eine jährliche Prüfung Vorschrift.

5. Sie haben eine Frage?

Uhren sind unsere Leidenschaft. Wir stehen Ihnen sehr gerne mit Rat und Tat zur Verfügung. Kommen Sie in eines unserer Geschäfte, rufen Sie uns an oder kontaktieren Sie uns per E-Mail. Wir kümmern uns umgehend um Ihr Anliegen.